The Cure for Summertime FOMO

Mary Welch Official
Age of Awareness
Published in
4 min readAug 24, 2023

--

What follows is a piece I wrote about summertime FOMO — you know, that pressurized feeling that some of us experience around this time of year, worried that we didn’t squeeze every last drop out of the season or do all the impressive things or find a way to make the moments count.

I read it on my podcast: Love Notes From a Soul Coach and wanted to share with you here as well, with love!

___________________

I didn’t really go anywhere this summer. Just out to the backyard. Where the grass is always in need of a haircut. And laid with the dogs there. And watched the clouds shift and darken and move, with a momentum all their own, across the sky.

Does that count? It’s its own kind of trip. To lie in a Rorschach patch of shade, grateful for the reprieve, and give oneself TIME to just be present with all the aspects of life which typically pass unnoticed.

My meditation teacher talks about seeing without looking. The gentleness of a gaze, finding a place to rest the fullness of its attention. Allowing what is alive and wants to be seen to enter our field without setting out to find it.

I am normally setting out, hunting, searching, seeking. So allowing can feel strange. Allowing can feel like a vacation, in and of itself. A break from straining. From leaning into the…

--

--

Mary Welch Official
Age of Awareness

Check out my book: Love Notes From a Soul Coach + learn more abt my work: marywelch.com