The Future of American Education

Transforming our K-12 educational system to meet the needs of the next generation

Keri Savoca
Age of Awareness
Published in
6 min readMar 6, 2019

--

I was at the Apple Store in Midtown, Manhattan a few weeks ago. While I was waiting for my appointment, I walked around a bit and stumbled upon a group of pre-schoolers using Swift Playgrounds while an employee attempted to demonstrate the program and the iPads to the people who might actually buy them (i.e. parents).

Except the parents were nowhere to be found.

They had dropped their kids off at the iPad station (where they would be under the supervision of a responsible adult) so they could shop for accessories and try out the new iPhone.

Here’s what they missed:

“This is Eric,” the employee told me when I struck up a conversation about Swift. “He’s 4!”

“He’s 4?” I asked, a bit surprised. “He’s writing functions.”

“Oh, yeah!” she answered. “He’s been here for about 30 minutes. He’s really plowing his way through the program.”

This kid was writing functions by himself while a few other kids (ranging from…

--

--