The Real Difference Between Being Smart and Being Intelligent

And why it matters now more than ever

Sophie Leane
Age of Awareness

--

Photo by Christina @ wocintechchat.com on Unsplash

In my life so far, I’ve been fortunate to meet a lot of smart people.

I worked hard at school and, against a few odds, ended up studying at Oxford University. There, I met some of the smartest people in their respective fields, and in my age group.

I studied hard there too and ended up landing a job at one of the top law firms in the UK, where my colleagues not only worked on some of the most complex cases in the world but also helped draft important legislature.

Finally, through my work with coaching and psychology, I have met people who are smart in a whole different way.

Arguably then, in my life so far, I have been fortunate enough to meet some of the smartest people in the world.

But I have also been fortunate enough to find the difference between being very smart and real intelligence. And it’s a difference that matters now, more than ever.

What is the difference between being smart and being intelligent?

The differences are subtle, but add up to a lot.

--

--

Sophie Leane
Age of Awareness

Editor | Writer | Contributor - The Startup, Be Yourself, NLP School. Founder of the Ethical Wellness Tea Company NUDITEA — www.nuditea.uk