Trying to do the next right thing.

Kathryn Sheridan
Age of Awareness

--

After running the business I founded for nine years, I was done. I didn’t love it anymore. I still loved the people and the idea behind it but the implementation was killing me. Always on the road, never at home and no time. The irony of working on sustainability but being in a totally unsustainable position was not lost on me. So I took a year out. I followed my curiosity and learned a lot. I’m now back and figuring out what comes next. It’s early days but here’s what I’m learning.

Experience matters.
Let me say straight up that this is not about my ego. My ego was feeling pretty proud kicking back in a hammock believing I had built something that could stand on its own two feet without me. Now I’m learning that my experience and my presence does make a difference, to the business and the people. I think it’s more about my attitude and ability to connect than my seniority.

Conviction matters even more.
I am the holder of the vision. I took the initiative to start and build this firm. No matter how committed employees are, it’s not the same. I might like it to be different but I now understand that that’s how it is. If I believe in something, people will follow. When I say no to a client, they accept it. Maybe I drank too much of my own Kool-Aid but I believe I know intuitively what is right for my firm and our clients.

Not everyone has a business brain. And yet…
In a small business, we don’t have the luxury of compartmentalising. As business leaders, we need to be transparent and teach everyone enough about the business so they can all represent when they go out into the world. The idea that bringing in new business is the responsibility of one chosen individual in a silo isn’t practical. Everyone is an ambassador. Everyone represents.

Business development is not only for extroverts.
I’ve been thinking a lot about more intelligent ways of doing business development. There’s still room for the conference circuit but I want us to be more choosy about where we go and instead find more personal (and less exhausting) ways to build connection and trust. Connection and trust is what leads to meaningful relationships and business relationships are no different.

The health of the team and the health of the business are the same.
People need to feel inspired and valued. They need to feel cared for and listened to. When the focus shifts too far away from the people and onto more rigid aspects of business, morale takes a hit. Stress goes up and wellbeing goes down. Motivation can only suffer as a result. My job now is to reignite the passion in the team and guide them.

Community is a gift.
The last new client I brought in was recommended by an existing client, someone I call a friend. No amount of stone cold pitching will match this level of endorsement. Everyone we meet is a potential ambassador. You get what you give and we give our time and our energy.

Do what you love.
During my year out, I went to great lengths to reconnect with what I love. I started my business to do good work and make an impact and work with people who want the same. That is still my driving force today. I’ve hired the most amazing people over the years and we have incredibly loyal clients. All of that is love. I’m bringing that energy back into the business now and seeing how I can mentor people to be their best selves.

And inspiration.
Everything is love. But also inspiration. My company ran without me for a whole year. Of course there will be some tweaks now and bringing in a few new clients won’t hurt. But I don’t plan on swooping back into my old job. I see my post-sabbatical role as more Chief Inspiration Officer than Chief Executive Officer. And with such a small team, the Executive bit sounds pretty pretentious anyway. To feel really connected to their purpose, people need inspiration. I’m going to do my best to bring that back in.

And finally, there’s nothing more relaxing than a sleeping puppy.
I have a four-legged anchor who is currently in training as an office dog. When he’s not lying at my desk, he makes sure I get outside and keeps me from losing myself in the work. Plus the team love him. He tells me this time, it will be different.

--

--

Kathryn Sheridan
Age of Awareness

Trauma-informed coach and Ecotherapist with a sustainability background. Curator at PEOPLE PLANET PLACE.