We Need To Explore More Options For Higher Education

Charlie Swarbrooke
Age of Awareness
Published in
5 min readJul 16, 2019
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

I decided not to go to university. When I was 10 years old, I thought it was something that was expected of me. I was a bright kid, who had good grades and plenty of teacher praise, and a lot of people in my life were gearing me up to see the academic path all the way through.

My older sister went to university, and as the younger sister, I was often naturally expected to follow in her footsteps. Everyone knew her before they had even met me, we shared a lot of the same teachers who thought we could manage the same things, and it seemed even my own parents considered her my sole inspirational figure.

But against all odds, I decided not to go to university. When I reached 16, and was off to college to get my A-Levels, I remember looking at what I thought would be easy degree courses. English and History, mainly. I liked the subjects, and I had always been quite good at delving into their content — surely I could do the same thing at Uni? Surely that wouldn’t be too taxing on me?

I was mainly focused on the university that was nearest to me, so I wouldn’t have to go far away from home. I thought it might not even have to move into student dorms, or rent a place with a bunch of people I didn’t know, and could commute quite easily on a daily basis.

There was a lot of worry inside of me. I told myself I didn’t have to apply to university for ages and ages yet, and I was able to stave off some of the fear around setting myself into a path of higher education.

A couple of months later, I realised something: I didn’t actually want to go to university. And seeing as I had the power of choice over my own future now. I didn’t have to ‘stay in school’ anymore, and I didn’t actually have to go to university either.

So, I didn’t!

I’m not alone in my decision. Back in 2017, the number of UK college graduates going on to higher education was at an all-time low. In 2018, UCAS themselves reported that almost 30% of all applicants from across the UK had been successful; a slight decrease from the amount that had been accepted the year before.

Does that clue us into the fact that fewer and fewer students think of university as the way forward? Or was it really just the decline in the number of people reaching their 18th birthday last year?

The methodology for assessing the number of young people attending university has been flawed for years, after all. Maybe there’s never been as many students in the UK as we’ve been commonly told there is.

Ultimately, we really do seem to be encouraged to apply to a university, above all else. In my experience, there wasn’t much support for those of us who decided university wasn’t the right option. Apprenticeships and traineeships were mentioned a couple of times, but out of a what seemed like a thousand powerpoint presentations on ‘What To Do After Leaving School’, there was only ever a single slide dedicated to them.

No numbers we could call for more information, no websites to check out (apart from the official government apprentice scheme page, which was sparse itself), and very few chances to talk to some advisors about what we could do next. And it seems that’s becoming a common theme amongst high school age plus students, especially if they’re achieving higher grades.

So let’s talk more about apprenticeships. The fact that there’s a difference between higher and degree level apprenticeships. That when a student is between the ages of 16 and 24, they’re going to be most eligible for an apprenticeship — most of the funding goes towards this age bracket. We especially need to talk about the fact that they’re accessible to everyone, and are a viable alternative to university, offering you a bit of experience alongside what you’re learning, especially if you see the use in learning a trade.

Hey, there’s even an article published on a major UK news website detailing a staggering 7 common misconceptions about apprenticeships. It’s clear we need to know more!

And let’s talk more about traineeships. Make it clear that they’re not the same as an apprenticeship, and there’s a good chance you won’t get paid as you undertake a trainee course — it’s not required by law! Which makes them a good form of work experience, and for anyone looking to leave school a bit earlier than usual, they’re a practical first step to look into. A traineeship will even pad out English and Mathematical skills, if need be.

And these alternative higher education options aren’t exhaustive, by any means. There are online degrees that count just as much as traditional ones. You also have volunteering positions and gap years to consider, as well as entry-level jobs or school leaver programs, if the educational authorities run those in your area. You can also choose to study overseas, or start working from home and learn as you go, or choose to jump headfirst into the much-celebrated world of entrepreneurship. They’re all viable higher education options a student can take, and personally, I know I heard very little about any of them.

Ultimately, I wish we could put a little more emphasis on the very real, and also very viable alternatives, that also exist. For people who don’t have access to university programs, who can’t afford to go, or who have oodles of innate skill and talent that they deserve to be able to polish off and put to good use in making a living. A lot of people don’t have the time or patience for university, or if you’re like me, your mental health informed your decision on whether or not you were up to going.

So, we need to encourage these kinds of students, and help them love what they do, and what they choose. We need to remind them that university is not the be all, end all.

--

--

Charlie Swarbrooke
Age of Awareness

Freelance Writer | I write about how mental health and society go hand in hand, aiming to explore multiple points of view and how it all tends to effect us.