What the “Heat Dome” Looked Like Where I Live (What if you are next?)

Sue Senger
Age of Awareness
Published in
6 min readJul 26, 2021

--

Photo by Jeremy Zero on Unsplash

I didn’t think rising global temperatures would actually look like this.

When I first started to hear about the “Heat Dome” in the news, I thought that the weather folks were just trying to find new ways to keep viewers interested. You know, jazz things up a little. Create some new jargon to get attention.

But a Heat Dome is something real, and they are becoming more frequent with climate change.

According to the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), a Heat Dome is a high pressure system that traps warm air rising off the ocean as it moves over land, and holds it there, causing extreme high temperatures over large areas.

I am no stranger to heat. I live in a semi-desert area of Canada that has Ponderosa Pine, bunchgrass, big sage and prickly pear cactus.

In fact, I live just 64 km (40 miles) north of the hottest place in Canada, Lytton, BC.

But I can tell you the “Heat Dome” experience was like nothing I have lived through before.

It was so off-the-charts strange that I was compelled to go dig through the weather data (seriously) to see why I felt that way. The results are nothing short of shocking.

Way Outside of Normal

--

--

Sue Senger
Age of Awareness

PhD (Biology), MSc (Plant Science), Landscape ecologist, Freelance Writer; Farmer: www.rosehillfarm.ca; Founder: Food Abundance Revolution: www.foodabundance.ca