When You Take Uber or Lyft, Should You Worry About Your Impact on the Environment?

Deborah Stine
Age of Awareness
Published in
5 min readFeb 10, 2020

--

Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

I have loved ridesharing ever since its introduction. When I lived in Washington, DC, I was frequently caught in unexpected rainstorms with no taxi in sight and would end up soaking wet. There I was, all fancy in my nice suit totally drenched squelching as I walked to my next meeting. Where I was, of course, totally embarrassed.

Photo by Steve Mullins on Unsplash

Today, no problem. I find some shop or cafe or awning and pull out my handy smartphone. I bring up my Uber app and voila, a ride arrives shortly thereafter! I also know the driver’s name, the type of vehicle and its license plate, and have some expectation of a clean, non-smoke filled vehicle.

In DC and other major cities, racial profiling was also an issue when it came to taxi service. Uber and Lyft riders, on the other hand, don’t discriminate due to the economic incentives, according to a Brookings Institute economist.

I’ve also used Uber in other countries like Prague and Paris where communication can be a challenge. When I was in Mexico City, I was told to use Uber instead of taxis as it was a safer option due to the tracking of its vehicles.

--

--

Deborah Stine
Age of Awareness

Dr. Deborah D. Stine is Founder of the Science and Technology Policy Academy, an Independent study director and consultant, and co-editor of Forefront on Medium