Why I actively share my pronouns

Steve Westgarth
Age of Awareness
Published in
1 min readNov 5, 2020

Someone asked me today why I put my pronouns in my e-mail signature and what it means.

As a cisgender man (a person whose gender is in alignment with the sex they were assigned at birth) there is little to no risk in sharing my pronouns. When you’ve never questioned what pronouns people use for you, or even thought about the idea of pronouns, sharing your pronouns is easy and costs you nothing. For a person who is transgender or nonbinary, sharing pronouns can be incredibly daunting and create huge barriers for the individual particularly in the workplace.

By sharing my pronouns in my e-mail signature I hope that it makes it easier for others who may be transgender or non binary to share their own pronouns

More information on why pronouns matter can be found at https://www.mypronouns.org/what-and-why.

If you don’t already actively share your own pronouns perhaps you might consider putting your pronouns into your e-mail signature – you never know who it might help.

--

--

Steve Westgarth
Age of Awareness

Steve 🏳️‍🌈 is the Global Head of Engineering at Haleon where he heads up the Software Engineering function.