Why is Bad Behaviour on the rise at Schools?

Episode #1: “Student is trashing a classroom; how do you de-escalate?”

Ghada Sadaka
Age of Awareness

--

Disruptive classroom behaviour Ghada Sadaka principal

I was called into a kindergarten classroom for support where student N was in an escalated state of mind. He had trashed the whole room and was standing on one of the small tables. Thankfully before his escalation, teacher had evacuated the rest of the classroom to another safe area, where no objects flying around would hit a classmate by accident.

Student had access to all sorting bins on shelves, cubicles, centers…and had flexed his tiny muscles to dump everything on the floor. It was very hazardous to slip and fall on those puzzles, blocks, legos, beads, numbers or dinos. Three staff members and I were standing, observing and ONLY ready to intervene with CPI trained staff if student N was in danger to himself or a staff member.

While respecting his space, he told me to F*** off more than 60 times when I signaled to him to get off the bookshelf so he doesn’t fall and hurt himself. He referred to me as a bad a** every time I got a bit closer to him so he doesn’t fall. When I was ready to intervene he punched me on my mouth with two crowned teeth in the front.

It was not the first time his parents get a call from school to inform them about the incident. Dad became very…

--

--

Ghada Sadaka
Age of Awareness

A fervent educator eager to impart insights from her personal journey and experiences