Why is TikTok’s Algorithm Diagnosing Me With ADHD?

Stop moaning about self-diagnosis, it can actually be helpful

Alice Sullivan
Age of Awareness
5 min readMar 28, 2021

--

Photo by Hello I'm Nik 🪴 on Unsplash

Disclaimer: I am still in the process of getting an ADHD diagnosis. This is just about my personal experience and discussions I have seen on social media about ADHD.

Attention Deficit Hyperactive Disorder affects so many aspects of life and can be left undiagnosed into adulthood- especially for women. There is an assumption that ADHD is something that only young hyperactive boys have. I studied childcare for years and never heard anything different. The less obvious inattentive symptoms are overlooked by educators.

Why do you think you have ADHD?

I presumed that I was lazy and disorganised for my entire life and never considered what could be causing that. I constantly needed extensions on deadlines at university, until I dropped out because I couldn’t cope. I’ve always been overly chatty. I’ve always been a daydreamer. It wasn’t until the pandemic that I seriously considered ADHD.

During the first lockdown, I moved home and stayed with my Mum. I had been travelling for a long time and returning to normal life was difficult. I lost my tablet for two weeks and didn’t even realise it. I was constantly leaving things around the flat and my Mum was getting really frustrated, but I simply forgot.

When she returned to work, I tried to set myself tasks for the day. However, she would come home to find me sitting in the same position hours later. I would forget to eat, shower, go to the bathroom and any basic self-care without reminders from other people. This was a common occurrence and I never associated this behaviour with ADHD until much later.

Where does TikTok come into this?

There is a current phenomenon on TikTok where videos related to ADHD are being recommended by the algorithm to certain people. Of course, the videos of each person’s For You Page will vary based on your interests and demographic. I was already deep into the Mentally Ill and LGBT TikTok communities when the ADHD videos started to appear.

There were the classic “Put a finger down” challenges with traits of ADHD people and I had all of them. Some were just funny relatable videos that discussed the challenges ADHD people face. I saw a lot of people in the comments freaking out, but others saying it’s normal to forget things.

However, the symptoms I saw on my FYP got more and more specific and I had to speak to my therapist about it. I sent her a video of someone with ADHD who forgot to take their meds jumping from task to task and leaving these reminders of unfinished tasks around the house. For example, the uneaten sandwich in the kitchen, because of being distracted by their dog that they didn’t find until they went to empty the vacuum in the trash. It was really reminiscent of how I live my life.

Several of my sessions involved talks about my potential ADHD and she agreed that she would recommend getting tested by a psychiatrist. Unfortunately, I can’t afford a therapist anymore. I also haven’t been tested yet. However, I use the strategies I discussed with my therapist every day and they help.

Is self-diagnosis a problem?

A lot of people get angry at those who self-diagnose mental illnesses and neurodivergent disorders (like Autism and ADHD). These people seem to forget how inaccessible a diagnosis can be. The waiting list for ADHD testing in the UK is absolutely ridiculous and can take years. The healthcare system in the USA is inaccessible due to the cost of insurance. There are similar problems in a lot of countries.

However, I would never have noticed these things without doing my own research. The diagnostic process for most things is asking your doctor about specific symptoms and saying “Hey, do you think I have this?”. That’s how my chronic illness got diagnosed after years of tests.

I have been diagnosed with depression and anxiety, but never found the right medication to manage my symptoms through several anti-depressants. This is a common situation for people with undiagnosed ADHD because the medication isn’t made for us.

I don’t think self-diagnosis should be shamed or discouraged. Doing your own research about a condition is fine, but make sure you get your information from reputable sources. Don’t say “I have ADHD because a TikTok told me”. You don’t know where that user got their information and you need to fact-check, but self-exploration is healthy and important.

So, do I actually have ADHD?

The surge of people realising that they relate to these ADHD symptoms during the pandemic isn’t a bad thing. Between the lack of routine and the isolation of lockdown, people are recognising their symptoms more. It has been incredibly difficult to cope and I feel as though I am having a mental breakdown constantly.

It has been hell trying to manage to work from home. I feel like I can only focus on certain aspects of life at a time. If I’m working and eating regularly, I can’t find the time to take care of my hygiene. On the day that I focus on that aspect of self-care, I forget to eat. If I feel like I’m managing to take care of myself, I get a phone call from my boss telling me I missed a lesson I was supposed to teach.

My day-to-day life has improved in some ways since I noticed these behaviours. I can try to prevent any major disasters. I try to make a list at the start of the week of my important responsibilities. I set alarms throughout the day to keep myself on schedule. At the end of my workday, I need to have at least three forms of media on (Laptop with a split-screen and my phone) to keep me from getting understimulated.

It’s not perfect and I still struggle daily with symptoms, but I do enjoy seeing advice from others in the community. It makes me feel less alone. Whether I have an official ADHD diagnosis or not, I don’t care. I am figuring out what strategies I need to help me live my life.

--

--

Alice Sullivan
Age of Awareness

Currently living nomadically and teaching online, but trying to get back into writing to get thoughts out of my head and sending them out into the universe.