Why my Garlic Vine and my obsession with it are growing altogether?

Parth Mayn
Age of Awareness
Published in
4 min readMay 29, 2021
Why my Garlic vine and my obsession with it are growing altogether? by Parth Mayn
Why my Garlic vine and my obsession with it are growing altogether? by Parth Mayn

As recent as last year, when I was about to set up my terrace garden, I wanted to bring home an easy-to-grow vine. Let me tell you guys that my love for vines and climbers dates back several years. So while I was busy choosing amongst the vide-ranging vines, I got to know about garlic vine which justifies all the criteria I was looking for.

I am going to throw some light on my personal experiences with the Garlic vine. I’ll be sharing my obsession with this pungy smelled climber and the major reasons behind it.

Without a second thought, this climber was welcomed home and since then, there has never been a day when I couldn’t find a reason to smile while looking at it. Thereafter, I bought one more in the rainy season, and I bought two more garlic vines just a few days ago. Looking at my collection of this unique plant made me share my story with you guys.

So, here are the reasons why I am extremely obsessed with garlic vines:

1. VISIBLE GROWTH:

The plant shows visible growth each day. Although being fond of plants, I very well know that patience is the key to the plants’ growth, but the Garlic vine is as quick as my observation.

Every morning, when I observe the plant, it shows up with new tendrils coming out and holding onto anything and everything that comes in its way. I have provided my plant with artificial support because I have made plans as to how it would recreate my terrace’s appearance in the future, but if you fail to do so, never mind, the vine is stubborn enough to find its way itself.

2. Adjustable:

Now the garlic vine is quite adjusting, both in terms of space and changing surroundings. You may get shocked to hear that I have potted all my garlic vines in containers, which are nearly 14inches in size, and the one which is a year old, also yielded several blooms last year. Unfortunately, I hadn’t started blogging at that time, hence I couldn’t record it. There’s no such myth that if the garlic vine is potted in a container, then it might not give out flowers. I feel my garlic vines are the happiest in the pots.

The vine is quite resistant to the changing weather too. Whether it's the harsh summers or bleakly cold winters, the vine is happy on its own, it allows no external forces to affect its lively attitude easily.

3. Average Sunlight:

Photo by Ainsley Myles on Unsplash

This is my favorite trait of the garlic vine; it needs an average amount of sunlight. For instance, the eldest of my garlic vines is located on my balcony in the south-easterly direction where it receives a little bit of morning sunlight, but it never complains. In fact, it has almost covered the whole of my trellis and is about to reach my terrace soon.

4. Shoos away the pests:

Photo by Joshua Hoehne on Unsplash

The garlicky smell of the leaves keeps the pests away. I have never ever seen a single pest on my garlic vine. This saves my time from being spent on treating the pests on the plant and keeps the vine pest resistant.

Here’s the link to the complete video

5. Alternative to real garlic:

Photo by team voyas on Unsplash

This is one of the reasons that my mother is fond of the garlic vine as she crushes the leaves of this plant and uses them as a substitute for garlic in the kitchen. She finds this plant so cost-efficient as its leaves are much cheaper than the real garlic.

Hereby to conclude, these are the fun facts of a garlic vine that never fail to fascinate me and I hope these might have intrigued you as well.

Please do share your personal experiences with garlic vine in the comment box below.

--

--

Parth Mayn
Age of Awareness

Terrace Gardener🌱 Blogger✍🏻 Deeply obliged to mother Earth, a plant influencer and a nature lover.