Why Remote Learning Was a Big Hot Mess

Laura J. Murphy, MFA, MEd
Age of Awareness
Published in
5 min readOct 12, 2020

--

When I packed my laptop and left my office on Friday, March 13, 2020, for a fourteen-day quarantine, I never imagined I would still be home in October, frozen in time. For nearly seven months, I have been juggling working from home, remote learning, managing IEPs, telehealth sessions, my own online graduate courses, and the eternal abyss of laundry made by two kids who don’t go anywhere — all whilst waiting to fall apart while my husband is at work every day.

Photo Credit: Canva.com

COVID-19 has been another reminder to the special needs moms out there that we need to be careful, and we need to take care of ourselves because we can’t leave our children behind. But at what point are we trading our mental health for this perceived safety we think we feel at home?

Any day now, it is bound to happen. Whether it will be another e-mail from a teacher or needing an art supply we don’t own for a project that won’t ever be seen in person, I am one moment away from crashing. Why is it assumed that people have printers and 64 oz jars of glue and salt at home?

This September, we started the 2020–21 school year fully remote and it only took three weeks for our family to…

--

--

Laura J. Murphy, MFA, MEd
Age of Awareness

writer, educator, instructional designer, parent to a child with autism, advocate, disrupter, civil rights activist