Why You Don’t Need A Degree To Become Successful

“I only want to write. And there’s no college for that except life.”

Dayana Sabatin
Age of Awareness

--

I grew up with the vision of going to college one day.

I couldn’t wait if I’m honest.

I was going to go to college, I was going to get fantastic grades, I would get my degree, and my mother would rave about how successful her daughter is and how cool it is that I got a degree in x, y, and z.

It was a fantastic plan.

I didn’t have any degree in mind; I knew that I wanted to be a writer; in fact, I was encouraged to become one. I had an imagination that ran miles long, I was a nonstop reader, and I was an introvert. If those aren’t the qualities of a writer, I don’t know what are.

We’re often told that we NEED to go to college.

I don’t remember the exact month or week or day that I decided to pursue other degrees, but I can tell you right now if you’re struggling between choosing the career of your dreams or choosing a job that will pay the bills, pick the career of your dreams.

It’ll save you time, it’ll save you money, and it’ll save you heartache.

--

--

Dayana Sabatin
Age of Awareness

I write about wellness, self-improvement, and dating. Published in Business Insider.