Work You Can Be Proud Of

The new, new normal

Beverly Payne
Age of Awareness

--

Photo by Jason Weingardt on Unsplash

Driving down the two-lane road, I saw the day releasing its hold on the darkness as I made my way to work.

With only a few miles to go, I noticed many blue lights flashing, headlights illuminating traffic cones and the tribal law enforcement manning the entry point to the Boundary.

This was not an accident scene. It was the latest strategy to help slow the spread of the coronavirus into the community. Another tool to help flatten the curve.

Slowing to a stop, I smiled as the officer greeted me.

“ I guess you need to see my Critical Staff badge?”

“ I sure do,” he acknowledged.

Scanning my badge, he said, “Thank you, Dr. Payne, for what you do.”

“Thanks. Have a great day.”

I felt bad for the officers. It was a wet morning, and the forecast promised more rain later in the morning. My Critical Staff colleagues and I would be working in the rain, too, as we provided meals to our children in our newly formed drive-thru lane.

Same Town, New Day

As I continued on my way, I noticed how different this morning’s drive into work was. Sure, I don’t typically encounter much traffic so early in the morning, but…

--

--