21 (Zillion) Reasons Why I Write Poetry

And why fairies arrived masquerading as misty rain

Carolyn Riker
Age of Empathy

--

First, the title is a little deceiving. I picked a random number just to see where this will go but honestly poetry has a zillion reasons of its own.

The flicker of sunlight, the shadow of the moon, the smell of coffee, a light breeze, the center of a flower, can all easily sway me.

So, to say there’s only 21 reasons, feels like a farce when I let the spirits move me — something else takes part.

It’s hard to explain why sometimes I rhyme but most of the time I’d rather let time show me a new sign.

You see poetry has gossamer wings as well as betrayal and love dining on scrumptious structure and form like that of a sonnet or Tanka or an alphabetically inspired abecedarian poem.

As a poet, who also holds a fuzzy 9 to 5, I gravitate to pockets of daydreaming either exceedingly early or into the wee starlight abyss of night.

I’m also unearthed just before twilight.

Nothing holds me dearer than the soliloquy of a poem coming through on a blustery script of autumn’s fine fallen foliage.

Those colors are orgasmic with their leafy curls and swirls.

--

--

Carolyn Riker
Age of Empathy

Carolyn's latest book, The Colors I Hear, is now available!