4 Simple Actions For You to Take When You’re Experiencing Debilitating Depression

It’s not about waking up early and going on a jog; it’s simpler than that

Graceygee
Age of Empathy

--

Photo by Francisco Gonzalez on Unsplash

Depression prevents self-improvement. According to Healthy Place, you can’t fix your way out of depression. Now I get it.

At the age of 26 and as a sufferer of depression, anxiety, and onset schizophrenia, I totally hate how self-improvement addicts tell me to wake up at 5 am, go for a jog, meditate for 10 minutes, write for hours, eat this, drink that… the list goes on. It causes me even more anxiety in the first place.

I’m currently in a mental clinic to heal— here’s self-improvement for the depressed from my perspective.

Try Your Best Not to Go Back to Bed

Being in a mental clinic is tough. Some days you don’t even want to get up, although you know the therapy may help. I guess it has to do with the place and rhythm of life too. One of my friends here has it hard. He’s in such a deep depression that he will sneak back into bed after breakfast and miss the morning round, but there’s nothing else he feels he can do.

If this is you: try your best not to do it. I know going back to bed seems like the only option when your head and heart…

--

--

Graceygee
Age of Empathy

Tea addict, yoga teacher, well-being coach, passionate writer spreading peace. No-BS advice: focus on well-being. https://www.instagram.com/graceygrossmann/