After Being a Guest on the Dr. Phil Show, I Flew Home Feeling Dirty and Used

McGraw’s ethics as a “counselor” are reprehensible

Sheryll James
Age of Empathy

--

A professional profile photograph of Dr. Phil in a blue suit and tie, and crisp white shirt. He is posing with a smile and his hand is held out with his palm opened upward as a friendly looking gesture.
Wikimedia Commons

I answered our landline with a weary, “Hello?”

It was an ordinary evening in October 2002 when the phone rang with its usual obnoxious jangle. I grumpily got up to silence the irritating noise, thinking it was another frequent caller requesting one of our four chatty teenagers.

Instead, a friendly woman’s voice caught me off guard, announcing, “Hello, my name is Melissa, and I’m calling from the Dr. Phil Show in California. Did I catch you at a good time to talk?”

I angrily reacted, “Is this some kind of joke?” But before I could slam the receiver into its cradle, she quickly explained, “Your sister, Marlene, has written a heartfelt letter pleading Dr. Phil to help mend your broken relationship.”

That got my attention.

Our forty-plus years of enjoying a close sisterly bond now teetered on the brink of extinction. We hadn’t spoken for over a year.

I felt queasy and anxious as Melissa described the show’s content and details of my commitment if I accepted. Rebounding from the initial stun of this bizarre conversation, I shakily replied, “I don’t know what to say. I need to think…

--

--

Sheryll James
Age of Empathy

Desire to scatter my winsome wisdom before my ashes are scattered. Top Writer in psychology—retired physical therapist and mental health counselor.