America’s Teachers Are Overworked, Burned Out, And Deserve Better

Our academic mentors are not political puppets — they are doing their best during a terrible health crisis

Dayon Cotton
Age of Empathy

--

Photo by Tima Miroshnichenko from Pexels

“It is easier to build strong children, than to repair broken men. “

–Activist/Author, Frederick Douglass

My teachers have saved my life more than the Avengers have ever saved the world.

I’m not exaggerating when I say that.

Because, unlike the Avengers, my teachers are real-life superheroes that are responsible for helping me become a better person today. And just not myself, but many kids like myself that needed them, especially when our real parents failed to teach us the right skills to succeed.

For many of us, school is our first impression of the world outside the comfort of our homes. It’s a time of achievement and mental improvement where we begin to understand the concepts of education and academics. But it’s also a time of self-discovery and coming to our own…which isn’t always easy. A time of great upheaval and establishing our identity of who we are and what we want.

--

--

Dayon Cotton
Age of Empathy

I write dope articles about social issues, life lessons, and living a better life, dayon1020@gmail.com, Follow My Twitter! @dayoncotton00, Active Duty US Navy