A Balinese Healer Was Whipping Me for Two Days to Heal My Back Pain

I got bruises and warmish feet and only a year later realized he was right — but not quite

Мaria Kriskovich
Age of Empathy
4 min readFeb 19, 2024

--

One of those exotic huts where my Southeast Asian healers hang out. Photo of author

He was not my real dad, but a healer I met in Bali. My American neighbor was amazed by Papa, who could heal any wound. By that time, I had been dealing with back pain for three years. Neurologists, manual therapists, massage, gym, kinesiology — none of these treatments provided adequate healing for my poor back. But as long as I was trying everything that did not appear to be too harmful to my body, I could not resist the temptation to visit Papa.

Papa was a short, curly man with a thin line of mustache. Strong and brawny for his 50s, that day he was wearing a muscle shirt and a dark-colored sarong. I saw him 90% of the time with a cigarette in his mouth. His three healing tools included a wooden stick, a dirty pink cloth, and an old couch that had been squashed in the head and bum areas.

All the walls in his hut are covered with paintings, as he and his sons are artists as well. He never made appointments, so you could just come by and wait. Because no one is rushing in Bali. You’re there to chill. Like my two new American friends who were chilling with me. I was just learning, though.

Papa with another patient. Photo of author.

Papa did my feet three hours ago, and I am still here to absorb his energy. My neighbor was thrilled to share his experience with me.

I thought I would die the first time. My neighbor’s friend Cassy caught my terrified look at Papa’s daughter-in-law, who was twisting on the couch and moaning in pain. I was next.

Do not forget to breathe. Cassy warned. But I was already on the couch. Papa wrapped an old cloth around my feet, as if to add some hygiene to the procedure. And off we went.

Papa, like many other healers in Bali, practices reflexology. According to Wikipedia,

Reflexology, also known as zone therapy, is an alternative medical practice involving the application of pressure to specific points on the feet, ears, and hands. This is done using thumb, finger, and hand massage techniques without the use of oil or lotion.

Papa mostly did my feet and hands. Papa, however, used a wooden stick to oppress his patients’ feet rather than fingers. His magic wand.

The areas around my big toes and heels were a shocking pain. The don’t forget to breathe advice didn’t work out — it felt too painful to breathe.

Cold feet. Your blood doesn’t run. Papa explained before whipping the backs of my knees with his magic wand.

Here’s a Foot Reflexology Chart I found online. Technically, Papa was mostly right when he said that the painful spots on my feet were connected to my spine and neck. Although I am still not sure how the backs of my knees were supposed to help me get better.

Source: blog.homedics.com

After whipping me for two days, Papa was happy with me. Your blood runs now. He said. I bet you would be shocked to see how badly I was bruised, though. I suppose if you are receiving treatment in Southeast Asia, you have implicitly agreed to this.

While my bruises were healing, I could feel my blood flowing and my limbs warming. For a while. A little while.

Such treatments rarely work for me, although I am still curious to explore them. Like the effect of a Thai massage, which never lasts long enough and always leaves my back craving more. Or the effect of acupuncture: sometimes it stays longer, sometimes it goes away within a week.

After leaving Bali, my limbs got back to their normal cold condition. And I quickly forgot about Papa.

Not until last week, when I found myself in the chair of a podologist (a doctor who specializes in the health of your feet and lower limbs).

You have flat feet, which can cause blood circulation issues and back pain. She told me.

And that was my aha moment. So Papa was right about my feet. The examination was correct, but the execution made me sicker than before.

It would be fantastic if healers like Papa could treat all wounds. To me, it is more of an experience thing rather than a medical one. I know people who find it helpful, but always think of the power of the placebo effect.

In my case, I need more scientific evidence to support their conclusions. And I am glad I finally found a professional who was able to shred the light on my back pain.

--

--

Мaria Kriskovich
Age of Empathy

Writer, traveler, B2B marketer and peaceful warrior. Read between the lines.