Caning Is a Dangerous Form of Discipline

Not only does it leave us physically scarred, but emotionally damaged as well

Torshie Torto
Age of Empathy

--

Photo by Susan Wilkinson on Unsplash

I came across an amazing story by Kimberly Fosu about the impact of caning on young children in schools. As a Ghanaian teacher, this topic is close to my heart. So I had to say something.

Although corporal punishment has been banned in Ghana since 2017, it’s so ingrained in our culture that no one bats an eye when it happens. I’m sure a lot of people don’t even know it’s illegal now. It will probably make no sense to them because they genuinely believe it’s for the child’s own good.

I teach English, social studies, and geography at a remedial school (for junior and senior high students) in my town. The principal is a firm believer in ‘sparing the rod and spoiling the child.’

Sure, it gets him results — students dare not misbehave in his class. Does that make it the most effective form of discipline in the long term though?

Well, if you’re hoping to produce timid children who never question authority, think outside the box, and just accept everything they’re told without daring to be skeptical out of fear, then yes, it’s pretty damn effective.

As a teacher, the last thing I want is for kids to fear me or anyone for matter.

--

--