Cultivate Delight

A simple practice to brighten your day

Caroline Mellor
Age of Empathy
Published in
3 min readNov 15, 2020

--

Photo by Konstantin Planinski on Unsplash

As the end of 2020 draws near, like many people I’m reflecting on a craaazy year gone by.

With so much uncertainty and negativity flying around, this year I began cultivating delight as a way of anchoring myself in the present.

Even when life is tough, there are always small moments of delight to be found. And I will venture that delight, meaning literally ‘of the light’, could be the new gratitude we need in 2020.

“What can an eternity of damnation matter to someone who has felt, if only for a second, the infinity of delight?”
― Charles Baudelaire

Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for gratitude. Gratitude is a super-power. It enables me to flip my perspective, count my blessings and improve my mood.

But sometimes, frankly, I’m just not in the mood.

Gratitude is a bow down. It is sober, serious and deferential. Hushed, reverent and important. It is prayer hands emoji.

Which, of course, are all good. But in the context of a pandemic winter, couldn’t we do with something a bit, well, lighter?

Hello there, delight!

--

--

Caroline Mellor
Age of Empathy

Mother, author, Medium top writer in poetry and climate change www.carolinemellorwriter.com @_carolinemellor_