Women Can Embody the Energy of Motherhood Without Wanting to Become Mothers

Constantly arguing the choice to remain childfree leads to a denial of the “mother” within

Amanda Kay Oaks
Age of Empathy

--

Photo by Brett Sayles

I knew even when I was a kid that I didn’t want kids. From an early age, I refused to play with baby dolls. There are photos of me scowling down at the crib in the days after my “baby brother” came home, and I admit I did not make a particularly doting “big sissy.” Though many of my peers took babysitting gigs to earn money and work experience, I refused to entertain the notion.

As I grew up, people began to feel entitled to opinions about my lack of interest in having children. My aversion to mothering became more solid with every “you’ll change your mind” I received.

This year, I turned 30. I also got married. These facts combined mean the comments from people who assume I will one day step into motherhood are approaching their crescendo. As a result, the very word “mother” can set me on the defensive. Mother? Not me! Not ever!

Each year as Mother’s Day approaches, I see a subtle shift in the marketing that’s aimed for me. Now, I don’t just see reminders to celebrate my own mother. I am invited to celebrate myself. The assumption, I suppose, is that a 30-year-old woman is more likely to fall…

--

--

Amanda Kay Oaks
Age of Empathy

Pittsburgh-based writer & wearer of many metaphorical hats. Making words about books, pop culture, witchery, health, travel, and more! She/her.