Don’t Let Your Emotional Burdens Get Too Heavy

Learn to let it go — A lesson from my mother

Kasun Ranasinghe
Age of Empathy

--

Photo by Randy Jacob on Unsplash

If you ask me how I felt when the news came my way,
I would say… Heavy.

If you ask me how much the suitcase I packed for 3 days weighed,
I would say… Heavy.

If you ask me how it felt to go back to the old house where we used to play,
I would say… Heavy.

If you ask me how I felt when everyone screamed and I had nothing to say,
I would say… Heavy.

If you ask me how I felt digging holes in the clay,
I would say… Heavy.

If you ask me how I felt when they cried in dismay,
I would say… Heavy.

If you ask how my shoulder felt where the coffin lay,
I would say… Heavy.

If you ask me how I felt all throughout that day,
I would say… Heavy.

Heavy… That is the most appropriate word I can think of to describe how I felt on those specific days in June 2019. I was a 23-year-old living with his parents but considered an adult by all other standards. We had enjoyed KFC the night before and my stomach was…

--

--