Dumped, Stranded and Phoneless at a Mansion in the Colorado Mountains

It took months to find my way home

Hogan Torah
Age of Empathy

--

Photo by Nathan Cowley from Pexels

When my girlfriend dumped me my first thought was, I’m not going to Rick’s tonight. She’s the one with the car. I hadn’t seen Rick since he moved to outskirts of Denver 3 years ago.

“She dumped me.” I told Rick over the phone. “I was totally blindsided. I guess I’ll Uber to the airport and wait until the next flight to LA. Sorry I didn’t get to see your place. I was looking forward to visiting but now have no way to get there.”

“Would you like me to pick you up?” asked Rick.

“Oh my god, yes. Get me the hell out of here.”

2 months ago, I packed my bags and bought a one-way ticket from L.A. to Colorado Hot Springs to be with her. I packed my bags again and put them in Rick’s Jeep.

As we drove towards Denver, I filled Rick in on the last 3 years of my life.

“Quit dope. Started writing. Became popular. Then banned. Started writing on a new site. Flopped. Got better. Started dating a fan. Moved into her place. Got dumped and that brings us to now.”

“What if she wants you back?” Rick asked.

“If she kicked me out once, she’ll kick me out again. It’s her place. I don’t want to…

--

--

Hogan Torah
Age of Empathy

Counterculture journalist 💊 humorist 🤪 social media hegemon 🤴 Google me, I autofill 🕶️