Growing up Fatherless Proved to be a Blessing in Disguise

Free from fatherly expectations, influence, and restrictions, I fathered my own destiny

Neeramitra Reddy
Age of Empathy
Published in
6 min readSep 26, 2023

--

Childhood photo of the author sitting on a see-saw with his parents (Faces blurred for privacy reasons)
Childhood photo of the author with his parents (Faces blurred for privacy)

I often tell my mom that my dad leaving was the best thing to ever happen to us.

She thinks I say it to console her. But truer words rarely cross my mouth.

What good would’ve come from a deserter who goes AWOL on a loving wife and 2 doe-eyed sons? A recreational sadist who kidnaps his own son to blackmail the mother? A stone-hearted coward who texts, “Live your own life.” when his thrilled teenage son hunts him down on Facebook?

Taking after my father, I’d have become cold, calculating, and cowardly.

But his absence gifted me freedom. Freedom from ill influence, paternal expectations, and restraints — and the freedom to fill his void with worthy father figures:

My 70-year-old grandpa who’d run up the stairs with a 25kg rice sack hoisted on his shoulder. Aanghel with his sage-like wisdom. Kris Sturmey and his unrelenting ambition. The brutally vulnerable Hamza. God-fearing David Hammond. And many more.

--

--

Neeramitra Reddy
Age of Empathy

See(k)ing Truth ✦ Building manximize.com - the best home for soulful 360° self-development ✦ neeramitrareddy.com