How I Used Creative Writing To Heal My Heart

Your story is worth fighting for

Brittany Amara
Age of Empathy

--

Photo by lilartsy on Unsplash

The human heart is a beautiful, fragile thing. It is built of unconditional love, unwavering kindness, and trust in the goodness of others. It is, in nature, vulnerable, because the heart does not often realize it needs protecting. It cannot see how cruel the world is, and most times, it will never see it. We can put up endless blockades and defenses, but the heart will always remain true. The heart will always cultivate love.

Unfortunately, this world isn’t always as kind as it should be. Sometimes, our hearts are injured, directly and indirectly. They want to be open and they want to be shared, especially when we are too young to realize that level of openness isn’t always safe. That’s why so many children acquire a build up of emotional wounds as they grow. They wander the world with their hearts exposed fearlessly, and sadly, they often fall victim to the harmful words, behaviors, and beliefs of others.

I was a very open-hearted child. This meant stepping into adolescence with a plethora of emotional cuts and bruises. Thankfully, I had the opportunity to work with a kind, caring, supportive therapist throughout these years. We met when I was only thirteen years old, and our cathartic sessions lasted until I had to leave for college. She stood by me as I grew…

--

--

Brittany Amara
Age of Empathy

Chaotic space fairy pretending to be a human. Writes sci-fi and fantasy to remind her of home. 🪐