Tantrum tales

I Hate Being Rational All The Time

Where is the button to switch on irrationality?

Anu Anniah
Age of Empathy
Published in
4 min readSep 25, 2022

--

Designed by Anu Anniah using Canva

No, seriously! I want to be illogical and irrational and moody! Where is the damn button to switch on that mood and most importantly, stay there?

It all started like this. I got up this morning in a jolly mood. Weekends feel like one has to spend them in a jolly mood. It was all looking up until the rest of the family began showing up.

The distance from uphill to downhill was crossed in less than 30 seconds. The kid and the kid’s dad said/did stuff that made me go from chirpy, not-a-care-in-the-world happy to a fire-breathing monster in the blink of an eye. Never mind what it was all about. Inconsequential.

I gave the family the cold shoulder for about half an hour before I realized that they did not feel the cold shoulder at all. I was hurt and upset by the incident and the fact that they did not feel my icy vibes. I retired to the balcony away from public glare which did not exist in the first place. Both of them were going about their business oblivious to my state of mind. What the fish!

I drank my coffee staring at the beautiful blue sky dotted with freshly laundered white clouds and pondering over life. See this — right here! I am already drifting away…

--

--