I Lost $60,000 Dollars In A New Age Cult

My most expensive life lesson

Heidi Thompson
Age of Empathy

--

Photo by Jp Valery on Unsplash

A long time ago, I accidentally joined a cult and my life went on a downward spiral.

Today I am sitting in an actual chair as I write this article, which is kind of a big deal for me, because a couple of years ago, I didn’t own a single piece of furniture.

It wasn’t because I was broke. I was making just over $40,000 working in the logistics industry. This was in 2019. I was married and had no children. My car was paid off. I rented a modest apartment and shared expenses with my spouse.

So even with my massive student loan debt, I could have easily afforded something basic, even if it was just plastic fold-out furniture from Walmart.

But unfortunately, the cult unduly influenced my life and my wallet. I went without medical care, vacations and even a honeymoon in order to stay active.

The cost of cult membership

Before my furniture-less life, I was doing pretty well. I had just graduated, and though I struggled to find a job, I had a ton of energy and a willing attitude.

But before anything could come of this, I attended a sweat lodge led by a man who became my Spiritual Teacher. Only years later would I come to think of him as my…

--

--