WEATHER INDICATES FIRE DANGER

I’m Damn Scared and Don’t Want Wildfires on my Birthday Saturday

Because nothing is worse than the fear of losing home

Debra G. Harman, MEd.
Age of Empathy
Published in
4 min readSep 8, 2022

--

Photo by Ricardo Gomez Angel on Unsplash

I screamed at my friend to get off the ladder. Just a few years earlier, my husband Jay broke his neck from the same one, and call me superstitious.

While I wanted the sprinklers up on the roof of our house, spraying water to quell the sparks and embers, I didn’t want her to do it. The goddamn horse we took in from people closer to the fires had run through our fences, and Jay was off fixing the fence. I called the people and said, “Get over here, we need to evacuate and your horse needs to be found.”

Situation normal. All fucked up. It was a SNAFU of all snafus.

And actually, my birthday is on Friday. This fire thing has me a bit stressed.

When you live on a piece of property that belonged to your father, and his parents before him, you protect it.

I know my little farm like I know my right hand.

I have a tree root that grows up through the earth that looks just like a woman’s vulva. I have another root that looks identical to a little heart. I have trees I helped plant.

--

--

Debra G. Harman, MEd.
Age of Empathy

Boost Nominator | Publisher | Writer | Editor --Welcome to my world! I came to Medium as a writer, and things got bigger fast. Parasol Publications.