Is Self-Care Making My Anxiety Worse?

I wish I could wash away my feelings

Adriana Sim
Age of Empathy

--

Photo by cottonbro from Pexels

I enjoy designing bathrooms for some reason, so when the time came to finally create my own, I designed my bathroom to be the ultimate shrine of tranquility.

Light blue-gray tiles with lavender tones frame a refurbished cast iron bathtub from the 70s. The wood-like tile floor creates a pleasant contrast, complimenting the century-old wood beams in the ceiling.

A large round moss picture hangs on the wall, beside a round mirror of the exact same size (because I’m slightly obsessed with symmetry). I made the decoration myself from Iceland moss and bits and pieces that I’ve found in the forest on my walks: lichens, bark, and pinecones.

Candles and dimmable Edison lights, along with an essential oil diffuser, are the finishing touches that make this room feel like a tiny spa.

The bathroom is small and compact, with every detail carefully studied and optimized for both efficiency and beauty. Kind of how I like things to be in everyday life as well.

Photo by Author

My bathroom is the most beautiful room of our modest home, and it says a lot about…

--

--

Adriana Sim
Age of Empathy

In the process of GYST’ing and following my intuition. Gave up a career in medicine to pursue writing, blogging, and, most of all, living.