Khuda Hafiz: What A Goodbye Means

How We Can Understand and Say Our Goodbyes With Intention

Zayera
Age of Empathy

--

Sunset. Credit: Zayera Khan

Whenever I depart from my parents, they say “Khuda hafiz”; may God be your guardian. My parents are practicing Muslims and we belong to a culture where God is ever present as a guardian.

Whenever I travel and embark on an adventure, I am never afraid. I know in my heart that I am protected and guarded, not only through the prayers of my parents and relatives. But also through a sense of connecting with the spirituality of the world. The essence of being.

We are saying goodbyes every day. Every day we shed a version of ourselves to a newer version. Some days it is a better version. Some days it is a lesser version. Nonetheless, it is a new version, as our entire biology is built on renewal, regeneration, and replacement.

We continue to change biologically throughout our entire lives. Growing is an endless process until the day we say our last goodbyes to existence in our bodies.

Why is it a GOOD bye?

It is not always a “goodbye but rather a resistance to change. I do not want something to end. Or I am afraid of a change. A loss. Mourning.

A child who is afraid; fearing not seeing a loved one again.

--

--

Zayera
Age of Empathy

Alien vagabond roaming this green blue planet called Earth. Human being, philosopher at heart. LGBTQ, third culture individual, traveler, explorer.