Lifting the Yoke

A poem on releasing burdens

Denise G
Age of Empathy
1 min readAug 1, 2020

--

Photo by Tran Phu on Unsplash

my limbs and soul heavy with burdens
burdens that need to be lifted off my shoulders
but there is fear
because no matter how heavy
there is comfort in the familiar
my body and soul crushed under the weight

I lift the yoke as the rain comes
It comes, hard and fast
my tears, rain drops, and burdens
wash away into rivers that etch the earth

absorbed by the mother
the mist rises to the father
I am light and feel myself float briefly
as if there is no gravity
but gravity cannot be defied for very long
grounded, Terra Firma
my step now lighter on my Fool’s journey.

A Short Bio

I’m an empath with newly discovered passion for writing. I find writing helps me release emotions that I carry, sometimes they are not even my own emotions, an emotional sponge so to speak. Creativity is where I find balance and release. I’m a long time photographer, mostly nature and travel photography and have recently started painting as well. I am in my renaissance, metamorphic stage or mother to crone transition in life.

I have a personal blog which contains some of my writing and photography.

Www.notafulldeck.com

--

--