My Life Feels Best When I Ride The Waves of ‘Yes’

Following the flow of what’s working eases my frustrations and redirects me to a happier life

kasey sparks
Age of Empathy

--

a gentle wave | photo by kasey sparks

We often hear stories about the terrible twos when toddlers first learn the power of the word no. For a while, the most frequent word we hear coming from their little mouths is NO!

However, when my oldest son was that age I found myself saying no to him far more often than he said it to me.

No, you can’t play with the water in the toilet.

No, you can’t pull the night light out of the wall socket and stick it in your mouth.

No, you can’t yank every single tissue from the Kleenex box. I know it’s super magical to pull one tissue out and another pops up. I get that. But no, we need the tissues to stay in the box in case we need to use one.

I said no so often that I worried he’d get frustrated and think everything was a no. So the next time he stuck something in his mouth that wasn’t edible I directed him away from the no and towards a yes.

That thing is a no. Let’s find a yes.

At that young age, he had no idea that my nos kept him from harm while my yeses nudged him to safer or more constructive activities. All he knew was that the…

--

--

kasey sparks
Age of Empathy

making mistakes · gathering lessons · sparking curiosity · unearthing guidance in life's illuminating moments · wrangling words since 2017