Rediscovering Self-Love

Journal Entry

Edwin J. Gasque
Age of Empathy

--

Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Dear Journal,

Today, I want to share something deeply personal and beautiful that has been unfolding within me.

It’s about falling in love, not with another person, but with myself. It’s a journey of self-rediscovery that has breathed new life into my existence.

For a long time, I had lost sight of myself.

The hustle and bustle of daily life, the demands and expectations of the world, had gradually chipped away at my self-esteem and self-worth. I found myself constantly seeking validation from external sources, measuring my value through others’ eyes.

It was a path that led to self-doubt and a persistent feeling of emptiness.

Life has a way of sending us wake-up calls when we need them most. I had my wake-up call—a moment of clarity that told me I needed to reconnect with the most important person in my life: MYSELF.

I started by taking small steps.

I began practicing self-compassion, treating myself with the same kindness and understanding I would offer a dear friend. I learned to silence my harsh inner critic and replace it with words of encouragement and self-love.

It wasn’t easy at first, but over time, it became a habit.

I also started to prioritize self-care. I dedicated time to activities that brought me joy and nourished my soul. Whether it was a long walk in nature, reading a book, or indulging in a soothing bath, I made sure to carve out moments for myself that were purely mine.

Through self-reflection, I explored my passions, my dreams, and my values. I rekindled the flames of creativity and curiosity that had been dormant within me. I remembered what it felt like to be truly alive and to pursue my interests without fear of judgment or failure.

As I journeyed inward, I began to embrace my imperfections and quirks. I realized that these were the very things that made me unique and beautiful. I celebrated my flaws as badges of honor, reminders of the battles I had fought and the growth I had experienced.

Gradually, I fell in love with myself again, not in a narcissistic or self-centered way but in a deeply compassionate and nurturing way. I recognized that I deserved love, not just from others but from myself as well. I became my own cheerleader and my own source of strength.

The transformation was remarkable. I felt a renewed sense of purpose and vitality. The world around me seemed to shine with brighter colors, and each day held the promise of new adventures. I laughed more, loved more, and lived more fully.

Rediscovering self-love didn’t mean I had all the answers or that life was now without challenges. It meant that I had a strong and loving ally within myself to face whatever came my way. It meant that I could weather storms with grace and celebrate sunny days with gratitude.

By falling in love with myself again, I learned that self-love isn’t selfish; it’s essential. It’s the foundation upon which we build our relationships with others and the world. It’s the source of resilience and inner peace.

With love and compassion,
Edwin J. Gasque

--

--

Edwin J. Gasque
Age of Empathy

"Two steps forward to every one step back..." -P.W. Making dreams a reality. That is why I have started an account on medium.