Save Time and Money with the Magic of Fried Rice

A basic recipe with dozens of exciting adventures

Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她)
Age of Empathy

--

Save Time and Money with the Magic of Fried Rice A basic recipe with dozens of exciting adventures by Lucy The Eggcademic.
Photo by Emanuel Ekström on Unsplash

In the spirit of building habits, I have a series of basic recipes that I repeat, to save time and money. One of my all-time favourite comfort foods is fried rice.

With a few basic ingredients, I can comfortably plan ahead and buy in bulk to save money. I can rest easy, reducing decision fatigue on needing to find the recipe I need for every meal. With a given structure, I’m also not locked into one specific recipe and can still stay creative to jazz up meals so that they vary across the week.

The best of both worlds? I think so.

The Basic Ingredients

Rice

Get the scoop from a gal who buys rice in packs of 8kg! (17.6 lbs!)

Photo by Pille-Riin Priske on Unsplash

The key to preparing the rice for fried rice is to cook it the day before and to refrigerate it overnight. If you cook fried rice with freshly cooked rice, it might become mushy as you stir-fry.

That’s why as meal prep, I cook several days’ worth of rice in one batch and use the leftover rice for…

--

--

Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她)
Age of Empathy

Filling in the cracks on conflicting self improvement advice and translating how these can work for a more diverse audience ✨ Icon by: @jkbarts #WEOC writer.