Scammed By a Nice Man With a Cold Call

I should have switched off my head and followed my intuition

PlainTalkBadManners
Age of Empathy

--

Photo by Cookie the Pom on Unsplash

“How are you?” he asked. I told him I was alright. I wasn’t expecting a call, didn’t know his voice, and wanted him to hurry up. Why had he called?

He was from Sky, he informed me pleasantly. Now Sky was my internet provider, so that seemed fair enough. He then said Sky knew our internet was slow and it sometimes cut out altogether — they’d detected the error messages from our router. So he said.

Under His Expert Guidance, I Typed My Way Straight into His Scam

“Yes! It’s true! That has been happening.” We were on the same page. Our internet had been particularly bad in the last few weeks. I was surprised they could detect this through their systems. The wonders of modern technology!

Well, he was intending to fix it, so I was glad. He didn’t give me an overview of how or when he’d fix it but he started giving instructions in a kind, guiding voice. I supposed we were going to fix the problem remotely.

He needed me to go to a website. He told me which characters to type, one by one. I supposed it was a way to make sure I got the characters right, like when we give a phone number or postcode over the phone.

--

--

PlainTalkBadManners
Age of Empathy

Ex-Doctor, Ex-Catholic, Ex-Muslim. Climate Worrier & Wannabe Climate Warrior. Novelist. Human. Label resistant. https://thefriendlyradicalnextdoor.substack.com/