Should I Sell My Friend’s Story?

Where do writers draw the line

Zed Bee
Age of Empathy

--

Photo by Etienne Boulanger on Unsplash

I remember once I had really bad writer’s block. It got to the point where I felt so frustrated, even when I stepped away from the screen. I couldn’t seem to shake it off. It hovered over me for the best part of 2 weeks and I was sure that I was the world’s worst writer.

One day I was on the phone with my friend and we were catching each other up on recent events: things we’d experienced, seen on social media, or just talking about how we were feeling.

During the call, he’d told me a brief story that wasn’t personal to him and really only hinted at the details but I felt my imagination awaken and it went wild. It filled in all the missing parts and grew it until it felt like a tangible idea with the makings of a great story.

Suddenly, I felt compelled to write. My writer’s block was gone and here was something I could work on.

I started typing but the story told itself. It flowed out in a way that I didn’t need to think too much, it just was an endless stream of consciousness. One word followed the other easily, there was no deliberation of what needed to come next, or what should go where.

In a blink, I was done and the story was finished.

--

--

Zed Bee
Age of Empathy

I like to think. And I like to write. Join my email list for more insights, breakdowns, and interesting ideas 👉 https://zedbelle.com/zeds-letters