The Dark Side of Self-Improvement

How the industry can be harmful to the unhealthily driven

Michelle Loucadoux
Age of Empathy

--

Woman looking in the mirror and applying lipstick.
Photo by Septian simon on Unsplash

Step away from the almond milk. You pressed snooze, Michelle. You don’t deserve it. You didn’t earn it. This morning coffee dilemma happens more often than it should. I’m not as insane as I sound. Let me explain.

I listen to a lot of podcasts. Like, a lot. I run every day for about an hour and listen to podcasts the whole way. I’ve also read hundreds of books on self-improvement. I love finding new ways to be better at crushing life and I work hard to improve every part of my life based on the research detailed in these books and podcasts.

This should be a good thing, right? I set my alarm every day for 5 am, I work out religiously, I drink a lot of water, I eat a largely plant-based diet, I experiment with different workflows to optimize my productivity, I intermittently fast for at least 12 hours per day, and I try (not so successfully) to meditate on a regular basis.

All of these habits have come from the writings and podcasts of the likes of Robin Sharma, Tim Ferriss, Darin Olien, Tom Brady, Lewis Howes, Brendon Burchard, and Shawn Stevenson (amongst others). The more I can design my life, the happier I will be. At least, that’s what we’re told.

Could Self-Improvement Be Bad…

--

--

Michelle Loucadoux
Age of Empathy

Author, educator, and self-improvement nerd. Co-founder of Danscend. My books: shorturl.at/lrtOV My email: Loucadouxmichelle@gmail.com