The Horror Of Our House After Tenants Left

With photographic evidence

Susie Kearley
Age of Empathy

--

Left for us in the oven by the tenants © Susie Kearley

Last Friday I went to see the state of a house we’d been renting to tenants after the tenants moved out. I was shocked. Photos supplied by the letting agent had failed to fully portray the level of grime and horror we walked in on that day.

I asked my husband if he wanted to tackle the now derelict property or sell it cheap, as a restoration project. We were both really upset.

He’d just had an operation, so was in no shape to start doing heavy-duty restoration work. But at the risk of having spent 20 years caring for this place, only to sell it for the same price we bought it for, he wanted to give restoration a go.

I put him on light duties, painting skirting boards and filling holes, while I cleaned and redecorated the whole house.

Me working on the dining room © Susie Kearley

There was greasy food residue on the walls, grime and crap everywhere. This was after a ‘deep clean’ had taken place. I dread to think what it was like before the deep clean, but I’d seen pictures, so was somewhat prepared.

--

--

Susie Kearley
Age of Empathy

Freelance writer UK. Outrageous opinions. Occasionally offends by accident. Covers writing, health, psychology, memoir, current affairs, copyright, environment.