The Search for Meaning in a Child-Free Relationship

It’s cool if you don’t want children, but you better find another purpose.

Joe Elvin
Age of Empathy

--

My girlfriend and I are in our early to mid-thirties. If you’re childless, this is where things can get a bit terrifying.

It’s well-documented that women (especially) begin to panic if they want kids and don’t have any at this stage.

But if you’ve decided you don’t want kids, this stage of life can spook you as well.

Either way, it can be perceived as the ‘now or never’ stage.

Indeed, I’ve recently been asking myself: “What the heck am I going to do when I’m old?”

My Hunt for Purpose

In my early twenties, I knew I didn’t want kids getting in the way of all the fun. Once I started travelling the world working as a dating coach and writer, that became even more true. How am I meant to grow my career, date around and party in the world’s best nightclubs with a child in tow? Urgh.

I’m not as excited by these pursuits any more. Plus, I’ve recently been dealing with bad health. There’s nothing like neck pain, sore shoulders and persistent headaches to make me realize I’m getting older.

--

--

Joe Elvin
Age of Empathy

I help men to escape their comfort zones, improve their self-esteem and make smarter dating decisions. Buy my book 'Big Dick Energy' at https://amzn.to/3HxnwiH