The Truth Behind The Blame Game: It Is Not Always Someone Else’s Fault

Learn to take accountability for your actions

Michele Maize
Age of Empathy

--

Photo by Joel Muniz on Unsplash

From as early as I can remember, I heard blame spew out of my mother’s mouth. Nothing was ever her fault. She even decided that someone was at fault before anything happened.

I’d like to think that this isn’t a learned behavior and I am never quite as bad, but being mindful and not letting these patterns slip in is a constant job.

When you pre-decide how you think an interaction with someone else will go, you really are setting yourself up to the conformity of your thoughts and beliefs.

I’ve noticed this a lot lately when reflecting on the past compared to situations I have been in recently. When I first got sober, I would talk to myself negatively about how an interaction with someone would go or how the party would be before I even got there.

Basically, an event that I would be forced to go to would suck. It would suck because I am awkward and without a drink. Thus, when I got to said event, a negative energy would escape my body and into the minds of other people.

I wouldn’t have a good time and I doubt anyone was really excited to talk to me, either.

--

--

Michele Maize
Age of Empathy

Sober Traveler | Wannabe Vegan | Yoga Addict. Extrovert turned introvert who loves dachshunds. Owner of "The Maze". Editor at Black Bear and Globetrotters.