Thursday is Joke Day!!

For kids and adult kids

Stephanie Wilson
Age of Empathy

--

Image by author

Thursday is Joke Day has been going strong for over a year now. I started this on Sept. 9, 2021. Every Thursday I post a joke for my two neighborhood kids on our mailboxes next to their bus stop. It’s taken on a life of its own, this goofy weekly joke, and it occurred to me recently how integral the tiniest bits of life can become.

When Covid hit, I put together a driveway art class, which I’ve written about before. The ‘class’ ran during the warm-enough months outside in my driveway and my cousin’s, during the period when vaccines weren’t yet available, and the world lay in an isolated heap. That class kept my heart alive and connected me to four beautiful young souls each week.

Then when Covid got under control, and school thankfully got back underway, the sadness of the disappearance of the art class stuck around in me. I still wanted to connect with my young pals. Thus, ‘Thursday is Joke Day’ was invented.

It was a small gesture compared to the art class, but it was still a fun thing to do for my little friends, and it brought joy to me. Make joy for others = reap joy for yourself. A super simple age-old hardwired equation.

The original idea for Thursday is Joke Day was a chalk joke written on our shared driveway, such that it’d face the bus and all the kids…

--

--

Stephanie Wilson
Age of Empathy

Neurodiversity coach. Editor at MuddyUm and Age of Empathy. Impassioned public speaker in front of my bathroom mirror.