What I Admire Most in People

They usually say “I don’t know” or “I’m not sure” or “I think”

Ria Tagulinao
Age of Empathy

--

Limited by your own point of view | Art by Kara Pangilinan | Photo by Robin Molas

“If there’s one thing I’ve learned about myself in 70 years,” wrote Martha Manning on her 70th birthday, “it’s that I’m completely full of shit.”

I absolutely loved reading that. These days, I’ve been finding myself struck by statements of a similar vein. A few more examples: A speaker in a virtual work seminar, upon introducing herself, said she’d be happy to take questions after the session via e-mail. Then, she cautioned: “I may not have all the answers, but I’d be happy to exchange thoughts with you.” In his newsletter, Sasha Chapin wrote about how his second marriage played out and confessed: “The fact that we’ve gotten here, from where we were, makes me more clueless than ever about what makes relationships work.”

Now I know that “I’m completely full of shit”, “I may not have all the answers”, and “I’m clueless” are arguably three different thoughts. But what I see is they’re underpinned by the same thing: they’re admissions of fallibility.

For as long as I can remember, I’ve always been drawn to people who appear as if they just know. We’ve all come across the type (there are plenty in the corporate world): the ones who can walk into a room and talk like they know exactly what they’re talking about. Like they…

--

--

Ria Tagulinao
Age of Empathy

Fun-sized Filipina Writer | To stay up-to-date with my work, here's my Sunday newsletter: http://riatagulinao.substack.com