Essay, Grandmother, Wisdom

When Nannie Spoke, Even the Bunnies Harkened, Gathering to Eat from the Palms of Her Hands

Years Later and I Still Hear you; Oh, Georgia, Gone but not forgotten

Marilyn Glover
Age of Empathy
Published in
5 min readMar 8, 2023

--

A grandmother and granddaughter about the age of four are dressed in white and working outside in the flower garden. The little girl puts her hands under the water streaming from grandma’s green watering can, pouring water on orange marigolds. It is a beautiful Summer day in nature with bold hues of green from the surrounding trees and the lawn. Grandma’s wisdom and love of simple country living lead the way.
A grandmother and her granddaughter water flowers enjoying nature together- Image by Canva Design

Why do dated words intrigue me? Recalling early childhood memories, time, or perhaps I should say, restoring time, means being back at my grandparent's home where nature fearlessly spoke her simple truth. The only voice more inspiring and all-knowing came from a woman who called herself Georgia. Days of yesteryear still live on inside me commanding my attention.

Three-year-old-me was excited to meet my grandparents for the first time. Running with open arms to the man with the lumberjack shirt and bright red suspenders, my grandmother chuckled as I blurted out a bold "Hello, my darling" to my grandfather. Indeed, a big expression of emotion from the little girl with golden pigtails, this first encounter became a story told time and time again by the woman who I called Nannie.

Growing up in a British/American household, my mum taught me that Nannie was the proper term for grandmother.

Settling into the vacant side of my grandparent’s two family home, my parents, baby sister, and I had just relocated from Virginia Beach, my father’s…

--

--

Marilyn Glover
Age of Empathy

8x boosted Medium poet and certified Reiki Master (Usui method) writing to uplift humanity. Dual citizen, single mum, and domestic abuse survivor