Why I Still Get Ready Every Morning To Work From Home

Never underestimate the power that a bit of makeup and a nice outfit have

Ana Writes
Age of Empathy

--

Woman laughing sitting in front of computer holding papers in her hand
Photo by Anna Shvets from Pexels

My morning routine can make or break my attitude for the rest of the day. I don't drink water with apple cider vinegar or do an hour of sunrise yoga but I do like to get ready as if I were going outside.

I used to think that working from home gave me all the freedom in the world. I could work as much as I wanted, wearing whatever I want and the best part, I could do it all from the comfort of my bed.

These bad habits caught up to me and while I was getting work done, I was dreading it. I was confused as to why this new arrangement was bringing me down. After all, I could stay in bed all day and eat whenever I wanted, all while wearing pajamas.

After a moment of self-discussion, I decided I would try getting ready every morning before I sat down for work.

The Psychology Behind Wearing Makeup To Work From Home

Experts say that putting on a bit of makeup and getting dressed can trick us into thinking we have a routine. Researchers from Harvard University studied the “lipstick effect” and the power it had in increasing our productivity.

--

--