You Are Powerful Beyond All Measure

A short motivational rant backed by neuroscience

Michelle Loucadoux
Age of Empathy

--

Photo by Lopez Robin on Unsplash

Somehow, the idea of personal power has repeatedly been popping up in my research and conversations lately. So many people relinquish their personal power and choose to simply shrug their shoulders when faced with adversity. It’s like nails down a chalkboard to me.

  • “I have no power to change my negative relationship.”
  • “I have no choice but to stay in my terrible job forever.”
  • “I’m just not athletic, so I can’t work out.”

I’m here to tell you that these statements have all been proven categorically untrue by science in the past 20 years.

You have power in every circumstance.

No, you can’t swap bodies with Olivia Munn, you can’t make your spouse stop picking on you, and you may not currently be able to financially afford to leave what you perceive to be your dead-end job.

But, you can control your reaction to all of these situations as well as the way your brain perceives them. And that, my friends, is complete personal power. You can convince yourself that working out five more minutes every week is the most important thing you can do, you can choose to reframe the way you perceive your spouse’s comments, and you can mentally…

--

--

Michelle Loucadoux
Age of Empathy

Author, educator, and self-improvement nerd. Co-founder of Danscend. My books: shorturl.at/lrtOV My email: Loucadouxmichelle@gmail.com