Meet the members: Chloe from Core Insights

James Gadsby Peet
Agencies for Good
Published in
3 min readJul 28, 2022

Hi! I’m Chloe from Bristol. I’m a database consultant in the charity sector who enjoys any kind of water based activity (paddle boarding, surfing, swimming and skim-boarding) in my spare time.

I’m a massive extrovert, so if you don’t find me in or on the water, I’ll likely be seeing friends down the pub or at church.

Take us through your business / career so far.

I started off working for Lloyds bank as a data analyst. I quickly realised that the corporate life wasn’t for me, so quit my job and moved to France- as you do!

While there, I was offered an internship back at my church in Bristol. Whilst there, they asked me to do some work to help them reclaim a massive backlog of gift aid and so helped them to set up some processes to make that happen. It made me fall back in love with data and I spoke to some other charities, who started asking for similar things.

It was then I started Core Insights. I really wanted to get my teeth into some data analysis but over time, it grew into database consultancy (usually the data wasn’t in a state to analyse). After working through many different service options (including a brief stint in Impact Report design), I’ve finally settled in helping charities to find the right service user or fundraising systems (I’m a certified Donorfy Partner too).

I do lots of systems appraisals for CRM or impact measurement databases and work with charities to ensure they’re implemented well.

What’s your favourite part of running a business/ has been a career highlight so far?

For me, my favourite part of running a business is definitely the freedom. With a bit of planning, and taking the occasional pay cut(!), I’m able to take days off when I need and want-there’s no restrictions on holiday days! I also love working in the charity sector.

99% of people I meet are really nice and really want to make a difference in the work they are doing.

Another recent highlight is partnering up more with DOT Project. It can be lonely sometimes running a business alone. I’ve been working with them over the past year and have enjoyed working with their amazing team and have learnt so much from them.

What apps, or tools do you use to get things done / Are there any books, blogs, or podcasts for consultants/freelancers that you’d recommend in particular?

I’m really rubbish at reading books about work! However one that has helped me manage my time is “The ruthless elimination of hurry” by Mark Comer. It’s a little bit Christian in some parts but I’ve lent to a couple of friends who aren’t and they still got lots of value from it.

Tools-wise I use the free version of Hubspot for meeting scheduling, creating quotes and managing my pipeline of work. I used to use Trello for project management but have moved away from that. I also use Stretchly, which is a free app that reminds you to take screen breaks.

As you’ve been successfully self-employed since 2015 — Do you have any advice for consultants/ freelancers to help them improve their professional life?

Boundaries! I feel like if we are self-employed, we should make the most of the freedom it brings. Taking and scheduling regular time off (time off in the week and blocks of time for holidays/time with family) helps me to avoid burn out.

I personally only work 9–5, try to only work 3–4 days a week, keep my laptop at work and don’t have work emails on a personal phone. It’s taken lots of practise and even now I still take on too much occasionally, but having regular rhythms for rest has made a huge difference for me.

I also joined a co-working space recently. As a huge extrovert, this has made a big difference to me, getting out the house and meeting and speaking with others who are self employed. It also helps me to focus and I’m more productive when I am there.

--

--

James Gadsby Peet
Agencies for Good

Director of Digital at William Joseph — a digital agency and BCorp. I’m always up for chatting about fun things and animated cat gifs www.williamjoseph.co.uk