Hopeful Expectations

A genuine expression of authentic thoughts

Nicholas Breen
Ascension
2 min readMay 29, 2023

--

Photo from Strikers on Pixabay.com

Roses are red, violets are blue,
I wish I knew the best thing to do.
Twinkle, twinkle little star,
My best friend is very far.
Am I getting it together or falling apart?
One thing I know is that I have a good heart.

I wish people were more apologetic,
I wanna be respected,
I wanna be better so the people around me are better affected.

I expected people to care more,
especially a few girls who I really cared for.
Recently I’m not sure how to show love anymore.
Oh well, I’m good with a conflicted core.
It’s like my mind’s sore,
I’m optimistic and poor,
Realistic too, therefore I should focus on the best.
Think of what I can do and avoid overthinkin’ the rest.
I got a lotta thoughts I wanna get off my chest.
Whatever happens, I’m rarely impressed.
I got issues that are rarely addressed,
final exams are soon, I better study for the test.

I wanna do well enough to make myself proud,
Or stand out in the crowd,
Help the great people I’ve found,
Make a name for myself and go again like a merry-go-round.
Profound enough to astound a clown who’s skippin’ town,
Potential has no bounds,
It’s essential to do what you love since you only get one go around.

--

--

Nicholas Breen
Ascension

Aspiring author who writes for the dreamers, the learners, the unknown poets and people of this world. To learn more about me: https://tinyurl.com/TheBreenShow