I’m Starting a Podcast

Sean Ammirati
Agile Giants
Published in
2 min readFeb 21, 2019

Over the last few years, given my role leading the Carnegie Mellons Corporate Startup Lab (CSL) I’ve met a ton of really interesting people leading innovation and trying to create startups inside large companies.

Through these conversations with corporate executives and experts on corporate innovation, I became convinced of the following:

We believe startups can exist and thrive anywhere, including in large corporations.

Fundamentally, a startup within a company is the same as one inside a garage: a group of entrepreneurs trying to make the world a better place using new ideas and inventions.

(If you’re interested in what I mean by the term ‘corporate startup’ I wrote a post on the CSL Medium Publication defining our use of the term.)

Now to the point of this post, I have decided to start recording and sharing these conversations.

Each week I’ll talk to guests who are experts on creating startups inside large corporations. And not just at tech companies, but those who have created startups from a range of sectors from CPG & food (like our interview with the leader of innovation at Smuckers) to industrial companies and everything in between. We’ll also talk to authors & academics who have studied this.

If you already are a corporate entrepreneur, want to become one or are just looking for some advice around commercializing transformative innovation, this podcast is for you.

You can listen to the trailer below:

I also hope you’ll consider subscribing on

Also, if you enjoy the episodes please consider giving it a positive rating to help others discover the content. If you have suggestions, please let me know.

--

--

Sean Ammirati
Agile Giants

Partner, Birchmere Ventures (http://birchmerevc.com/); Carnegie Mellon Professor; Co-Founder, CMU Corporate Startup Lab (https://www.corporatestartuplab.com)