Responding to change (The joke’s on me)

Dov Tsal
Agile&Stuff
Published in
2 min readFeb 23, 2017

When I talk about the Manifesto my favorite part is this about responding to change.

And I sometimes illustrate it with a joke I was given as a gift… (thanks, Igor!)

The joke:

In a small secluded region, on a sunny day, in plane noon, a freight-train got off its rails, and hit full-speed a barn - 600 meters away!!

In the aftermath investigation, the engine-driver is questioned …

Inspector: how did you manage to hit the barn, which is so far away??

Engine-driver:
While driving the train, I suddenly notice a cow on the tracks!
I honk!, but it doesn't move!
I honk again!! , but no response!!

In such a case, my role as a driver is extremely crucial! I have to make a split-second decision whether to:
- Hit the brakes, risking the back wagons hitting the front, or
- Continue driving, hitting the cow, and possibly having the train fall off the track.
I took the decision, to hit the cow…

Inspector: But how did you hit the barn so far away??

Engine-driver: at the last second, the cow moved…

Ta-daaaa!!

…I usually get a moment of silence, a laugh/ smile and a small insight…

===

Yesterday, I ran a session in Thailand, told the joke, and…

Dead silence…

Everyone is looking at me…

… I thought there is a language gap, we discussed the story, but it was perfectly understood…

They just didn’t find that funny, since the cow died…

Gosh, I’ve got so much to learn about the culture gap!

(But life’s for learning!)

Till nextime!

--

--